American Municipal Power Scholarship Opportunities

The Scholarship Committee of the AMP Board of Trustees is calling for nominations for scholarships awarded in memory of Lyle B. Wright and Richard H. Gorsuch. All nominations are due on or before Dec. 13.

The scholarship program is intended for students from all states within the AMP member footprint, and provides a very tangible benefit to the communities of those students chosen for the awards.

“The AMP scholarships help to raise awareness of public power while developing the next generation of leadership for our community,” said Dave Carroll, Paducah Power System general manager. “These scholarships are a direct investment in our city’s long-term success in the public and private sector.

AMP member municipal electric officials are responsible for selecting their own nominees, and may nominate only one student for each award. Members are encouraged to work closely with their local high school guidance office in selecting nominees, which is especially effective when searching for candidates for the Lyle B. Wright Scholarship.

The Richard H. Gorsuch Scholarship is a one-time award of $3,000 that is presented to as many as five students who have a parent or guardian who is an employee of an AMP member electric utility or AMP. The Lyle B. Wright Scholarship is a one-time award of $3,000 that is presented to as many as five students who live in a household that receives electricity from an AMP member electric utility.

Scholarship recipients will be chosen based on academic performance, good score on the public power test and participation in a variety of extracurricular activities and programs.


Lyle B. Wright Scholarship


Richard H. Gorsuch Scholarship